PREPARATION OF THE ANNUAL EPAct REPORT TO DOE
An annual report is submitted to DOE by December 31st each year. In a letter from Governor Bob Miller dated June 4, 1998 to DeeAnn Parsons the Administrator of the Nevada Energy Office, the Energy Office was given the responsibility of being the point of contact between the State of Nevada and the U.S. Dept. Of energy (DOE) pertaining to EPAct reporting.
Pursuant to the Energy Policy Act of 1992, (EPAct) (Public Law 102-468), and regulations promulgated as 10 C.F.R. part 490, 75% of all non-emergency vehicles acquired in Clark and Nye Counties are required to be capable of using federally designated alternative fuels. A report on the vehicles acquired by the fleet, the number of alternatively fuelled vehicles acquired and pertinent data (see the referenced data sheets) for the vehicle model year. The model year runs from September 1st through August 31st of each year.
Letters are sent to the agency heads in October requesting the information with a due date of December. The federal fines for failure to report could result in fines of $5,000.00 per day. Additionally, fines of up to $10,000.00 per day per vehicle may be assessed for non-compliance with the acquisition schedule.
The forms may be found in an e-format at: www.energy.nv.gov, on the Media tab, then click on the bullet point: Documents:
· AFV Reporting Form
· AFV Data Instructions
· AFV Data Form, in Excel
[bookmark: _GoBack]If you require assistance in completing these forms, please contact Pete Konesky at (775) 687-1850 x 7305 or by email at: pkonesky@energy.nv.gov.
